Tanking fish and turtles

Status
Not open for further replies.

turtoise

5 Year Member
Hi all!

I'm totally new to this pet thing. I know that I have a 5 gallon tank and 10 gallon tank.

5g is for my 2 red ear sliders and my 10g is for my 5 goldfishes for my daughter...

SO!

Can I just merge the 2 species into a new 20g tank? Or should they be separate at all times?

I've bought adequate lighting for the my 2 sliders but I wonder if goldfish need lighting? Also, I don't like to get anything live to feed my sliders so I have been feeding them pellets. Is there anything else I can feed them that is in my price range? (it's low)

Thanks!!

turtoise

5 Year Member
wow.. very educational. thanks! i guess i shouldnt let the turtles see the goldfish then?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Turtoise:

746580cgdj3go097.gif

to the forum!!

Your user name is actually part of my email address!! Great minds think alike and all that. LOL!

Gold fish are said to be high in copper sulfate, and eating too many fish can be harmful to your turtles. Red ears will eat almost anything. I feed mine pieces of zucchini, pellets, bits of chicken, worms, crickets, pond plants...they especially LOVE water hyacinth.

While turtles can be housed indoors, it is much easier to keep them outdoors. Even in a child's wading pool that you can dump and change often. They quickly outgrow any aquarium you can keep them in.

Kristina

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Cadillac, Michigan
Hi and welcome!!!

Goldfish really are not what sliders should eat, as Yvonne said. They are very fatty, high in copper sulfate, thiaminase, and can carry diseases and parasites. However the sliders don't know that, lol, and WILL eat the fish eventually.