Temp home turned rescue

bextort

5 Year Member
Hi everyone, I'm Becky and I have a Russian, Shelby.

Today my friend called to say he was temporarily looking after his sisters friends two tortoises as she was in the process of moving and could I go round to help set up etc.

Now I'm no expert, I rely on the good folk of this forum for advice and guidance, but as soon as I saw them I knew something wasn't right.
I think they're leopards (?) ...
ImageUploadedByTortForum1382302122.365976.jpg
One is male (sausage) one is female (cabbage) ... They already had those names.
The female has been victim of a dog bite which has broke the shell and did puncture about 6 weeks ago, she was taken to the vet and received injections in a back leg for five week then given the all clear and told her shell will heal over time. This all seemed well however her tail/bottom looked extremely swollen, I would compare it to the size of an adult thumb. She was not moving and would not open her eyes.
I immediately soaked them and she started pooping like there was no tomorrow, enough to fill a paper cup. It was crazy, is this normal? Was she constipated? After a long soak I too he out dried her off and she was soooo active, off exploring whilst I began sterilising her enclosure.

They share an enclosure, which is a good size, mixed up substate of moss bark and too soil. There is a uvb tube bulb, heat mat and another bulb fitted which came with the tank however I'm wary as to if it's a coil bulb.

If these are leopards can anyone give me any advice regarding diet/ set up/ temps etc or send me in the direction of a care sheet.

This was suppose to be a temporary home but I've well and truly got the bug and am very reluctant to let then go back, I will offer to buy them if it comes to it. They're enclosure was dirty, they have been without lights for long periods of time, fed iceberg lettuce, and the owner clearly hadn't noticed the bottom problem.