Terrapin Station mom with 26 terrapins looking for tortoise!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lokenica

5 Year Member
Set 1 609.jpg
IMG_20130701_100645.jpg

Hello!

I am new to TF and have a Turtle story to tell. I am a wife, mom of two teenagers and a guardian of 26 terrapins, mostly red eared sliders. I am a science teacher and began taking in unwanted red eared sliders of students and neighbors about 7 years ago. People don’t realize that those cute little hatchlings grow into huge dinner plate sized turtles! With improper filtration, they are also not pleasant to keep indoors. I acquired so many that I purchased huge Rubbermaid horse trough watering tubs and eventually built a 3000 gallon water/land habitat in my yard over a 12 month period. It's called Terrapin Station. Photo attached from this morning. I made a photo book for the project and am building a website dedicated to it. I also have plans to install a water web cam and a web cam above it on my porch so I can share the ecosystem with my students by a live feed. It's really cool.

We currently have 11 hatchlings left (red eared sliders). I will re-home up to five of them if you live in the Atlanta, Georgia area. They are free.
So, why am I on tortoise forum? I want a tortoise. (Shocker, right?) I have been investigating them for some time (about two years) and am in the process of building an indoor enclosure with the help of my father. (Actually, he's done 99.9% of the work...I just helped with the railings and gluing the base and walls together). Picture attached. It should be done within the next week or so. We are going to paint a natural ecosystem on the inside back wall of it over July 4th and then seal it with a water-based sealant.

The ramp is narrow, with the thought that a western Hermanns could navigate it. I can make it wider if need be. I would like to know where I can purchase a tortoise that will remain smallish. Any recommendations?