the best carrier for a tortoise?

Location (City and/or State)
California
Hello all!

I've been getting different info on when desert tortoises hibernate but the common month I'm seeing is October. Anyway since this is my first time with Chibi I decided to take her to the vet to see if she's healthy enough for hibernation. But I'm not sure how to transport her, I was thinking of just getting a small box container that's not clear. Will that work? If so, how should I cover the top? OR does anyone have suggestions on what else to get?

side note, why are pet carriers so pricey?? like damn.
I also wasn't sure what thread this question fit in, apologies.

zolasmum

5 Year Member
Hello all!

I've been getting different info on when desert tortoises hibernate but the common month I'm seeing is October. Anyway since this is my first time with Chibi I decided to take her to the vet to see if she's healthy enough for hibernation. But I'm not sure how to transport her, I was thinking of just getting a small box container that's not clear. Will that work? If so, how should I cover the top? OR does anyone have suggestions on what else to get?

She is small, so I would think a fairly strong cardboard box, lined with a couple of old towels, and a mat of absorbent paper towels (because many tortoises poo when in a car) and a handle of card and sticky tape would be ok. A bit more towel to go over the top of the tortoise, as well.
I just sit Zola on my lap, on a towel, and he is fine - I'm not driving, obviously.He just goes to sleep.
Angie

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
How long have you owned the tortoise?
Most vets don't have enough knowledge of tortoises to know if they are healthy enough to hibernate.