Theory on the cause of pyramiding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leroy's_homeboy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
SE Wisconsin
First off, I apologize if something similar to this has been posted before. I am by no means an expert in the subject of pyramiding, and I am quite new to keeping a tortoise, as I received my first (and only) in early August. Also, I have no formal knowledge regarding chelonian anatomy and "how things work" so to speak. I debated for a bit as to whether I should create this thread, and finally I decided that it couldn't hurt.

Earlier today I was soaking my Russian, and while examining the new growth on his shell I noticed that it (the new growth) was not quite flush with the existing, hardened scutes. I attributed this to the possibility that he may be slightly dehydrated, and due to being so, his newest growth ring is a bit constricted. Now, if this growth ring were to harden off before my tortoise could receive adequate hydration, and before the new growth could "engorge", it could lead to a vertically tapered scute, right? Over time this problem could compound itself, forcing established growth further and further upwards as new growth is put on.

This would correlate with the theory that hydration is THE determining factor regarding pyramiding. I've seen photographs of tortoises with pyramiding shells where the pyramids are "stepped"...perhaps this is due to periods of adequate hydration interrupting periods of dehydration, causing a spurt of flush growth?

As I mentioned earlier, I'm quite new to all of this, so forgive me if this theory has been proposed before, or if I'm pointing out the obvious...or if I'm waaaaayyyyy out in left field wandering around in circles, so to speak. That being said, any thoughts?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You must not have been following Tom's threads on how to prevent pyramiding. They're in the African tortoise section.

dmmj