Three toed box female with rubbed spot on foot.

Stormmom5

Location (City and/or State)
Hannibal, MO
Hello, newbie here with a question about my TTBT. She has a rubbed spot on one of her back feet. She gets a scab on it, but when I soak her, the scab falls off. Also, she acts as if the scab is pulling or irritating her and will favor the foot until the scab falls off, and then she walks more normally on it. She is still eating fairly well, and using the bathroom when she soaks. She is not as active as she was, and after her soak and eating, she burrows back into her substrate and stays there the rest of the day. She also has a couple of rubbed spots on her plastron near her back end, which seem to be getting better. I can hear her scraping the bottom of her enclosure when she digs down, despite having 5-6" of substrate. I've been putting Neosporin on her foot with a q-tip after her bath. Any ideas/suggestions welcome as to the change in behavior or the abrasion on her foot.20230524_104622.jpg20230524_104601.jpg20230524_095711.jpg

mark1

5 Year Member
ohio
something lacking in her environment ....... make her a pen outside if your able ........ maybe she's looking for a spot to lay eggs ..... maybe the temps don't suit her ..........

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
My first guess with the little bit of info we have, would be you are housing her in way too small and enclosure.
Now give us a bunch more details in order for us to be able to help.
Post pic of enclosure. Give details of heat, lighting, temps, humidity, etc.
If the enclosure is appropriate sized then something else is way off.
As for the foot. Keep putting Neosporin on it but I would keep her on paper towels until it's healed.

Stormmom5

Hannibal, MO