Fiveoo

Location (City and/or State)
Ireland
I'm new to owning tortoises and I need a bit of help. My around 6-month-old Russian tortoise won't eat and spends its entire day digging in the corner. Is this normal or should I be concerned?? I have a feeling this has something to do with my enclosure being small, I'm working on trying to get a bigger one. Please help me out!

zolasmum

5 Year Member
I'm new to owning tortoises and I need a bit of help. My around 6-month-old Russian tortoise won't eat and spends its entire day digging in the corner. Is this normal or should I be concerned?? I have a feeling this has something to do with my enclosure being small, I'm working on trying to get a bigger one. Please help me out!
Welcome - how long have you had him for ? It is quite normal for a tortoise in a new situation to take a while to settle down . Russian tortoises are very good climbers and escapers, so make sure there's nothing that could help him !
Angie

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
For starters, give us an idea of the size & composition of your current enclosure. Most folks will recommend a minimum of 6x8 feet.

Fiveoo

Ireland
Welcome - how long have you had him for ? It is quite normal for a tortoise in a new situation to take a while to settle down . Russian tortoises are very good climbers and escapers, so make sure there's nothing that could help him !
Angie
You're probably right since I've only had him for 3 days. I'm just stressed that I'm going to mess up even though I've done a fair bit of research. How long should I wait until It's a proper concern? Thanks for the reassurance and the tip!!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
For starters, give us an idea of the size & composition of your current enclosure. Most folks will recommend a minimum of 6x8 feet.
Recommended minimum is 4x8. We can barely get them to do that. 6x8 they would never do lol.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club