Total noob

nefta777

Location (City and/or State)
North Olmsted
Hello all!
I was gifted a Sulcata baby by one of my youth's parents (I'm a youth pastor).

We thought we were doing a good job until Dash started getting lethargic. We tried many things until this weekend. We were away from town, before we left we left plenty of food (kale, and grass, and lettuce) before we left on the trip and came to him being totally unresponsive.

My daughter and I are distraught at his loss and only came to find this forum on the last day of his life :.(

Here are a couple of mistakes I think we did:
1) for some reason I thought that leaving the night bulb on, instead of the daylight would be a good idea. Mistake?
2) We did not leave water in his bowl. We were in fear he'd hop on the water and not get out and freeze or something. Mistake too?
3) We kept his fish tank enclosure at 80-86F degrees, Was this too cold?
4) we gave him daily baths and water sprits. Too much water?

We really loved him and are distraught that we lost him.
We were ready to give him a good life, but, we were not prepared.

Should we give it another go with better training and help?

Picture the first day we got him (we cleaned the fish tank they gave us real nice)
1663618741181.png

jeff kushner

North of Annapolis
You have landed at the best possible place for your little guy so Welcome! He's beautiful!

WATER???? Not your fault....you are thinking "Dry" for Tortoise.....Think more "Wet", especially for a little guy.

We have some superb talent here who will help you.....I don't want to distract or confuse you....but while you wait for them to get home from work, get the kids to practice etc.....read some of the Sticky's here in the Sulc section they cover diet, enclosures heat, light etc....written by some amazing talent!

https://tortoiseforum.org/forums/sulcata-tortoises.88/

Good luck!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello all!