Vet gave baby sulcata ciprofloxacin?

bladeraven

Location (City and/or State)
springfield mo
Hey all I'm new to sulcata torts but I have had turtles and other box turtles for years this is the first sick one I've ever had I have 2 babies one I bought and a little girl that was give to me last Wednesday and she came to me sick! I took her to the vet Thursday morning with a runny nose and wheezing.
While I have heard about baytril and the side effects and such she put her on ciprofloxacin stating it was easier on hatchlings ?
I can't find much info on if this is a good idea or not ?
Her habitat is set up just right and I'm making sure she is getting warm soaks and dried good she's still eating just fine and she is separate from my little guy.
Can anyone tell me if the Cipro is going to be good for this ?
Thanks in advance

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
In the past we used Baytril a lot. It is really hard on them, and its very caustic and painful too. It should not be used. Cirpo should be much better, if drugs are needed.

The bigger point however, is that usually drugs are not needed, and often do more harm than good. The smaller they are the worse this is. Instead, I look at WHY they got sick in the first place. It is not like humans that catch a viral infection from other infected humans. Our tortoises get sick due to flaws in the way they are kept. In most cases RI's are caused by temps that are too low, especially at night. In most cases, warming up the temps will cure the tortoise with no medical expenses, undue stress, or harsh drugs.