Weeds growing in a garden shared by dogs, is it safe?

Aw_Yis

Location (City and/or State)
West Midlands
This is my first time posting so please bear with me.
I have weeds growing naturally around my garden that I would love to give to my torts however I have 3 dogs that use the garden for their business... Is it safe to feed the weeds to the torts? (The ones that are not toxic obviously)
Also, this is a rented house that we have lived in for over 2 years so is it safe to assume that the weeds wouldn't be contaminated with any fertilizer? The garden was totally overgrown when we moved in.
Thanks

L

LasTortugasNinja

Areas that you know the dogs don't do their business are probably free to harvest, but areas where dogs go the weeds are probably coated in an unhealthy vinaigrette.

Wild tortoises will eat feces they come across, and I'm sure they aren't picky if Suzie the Elephant decided to pee on the dandelions. For me, tho, I pass on the potty areas. My dogs have "their areas" to go, so it's easy to find uncontaminated weeds.

As for safe weeds, two years should be fine. Most people attack weeds with topical agents. Very little of that gets into the soil, and once the weeds that are sprayed are pulled and thrown away, their agents are gone too. If anyone uses the sold-at-retail granular weed killer/fertilizers, those can last in the soil for up to a year. The companies make their money by being weak options forcing people to buy lots of it a season.

If you have your yard professionally treated, contact the service or local poison control. Some yard chemicals can last up to 5 years in hard soils.

Aw_Yis

West Midlands
Areas that you know the dogs don't do their business are probably free to harvest, but areas where dogs go the weeds are probably coated in an unhealthy vinaigrette.