Weight question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alan RF

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
United Kingdom
I bought my red foot in July and he weighed 78g which fluctuated for a while. His shell measured 10cm from front to back down the centre. Today he weighs 129g and his shell has stayed the same in length and width??? I can see at his rear some chubby bits :D lol ..... Should I be worried or not? He eats and looks healthy? Would appreciate your input! Don't want him to die from obesity :(

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
On which end of the BMI are you?

I don't find it too controversial, but some do. You could also use the Jackson Ratio and do something similar if you think that would work best.

Watsonpartyof4

5 Year Member
I always thought as long as they can pull themselves into their shells they are not overweight.... I am no expert, I have only had my tort for almost 3 years...

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
I find the objectivity of science difficult to argue. The Donoghue formula and Jackson ratio were constructed using the scientific method. Body Mass Index is also based on science and has been used by nutritionists for decades...I'm really confused why such an incredible resource is being so poorly received.

Alan RF

5 Year Member
United Kingdom
Redstrike said:
I find the objectivity of science difficult to argue. The Donoghue formula and Jackson ratio were constructed using the scientific method. Body Mass Index is also based on science and has been used by nutritionists for decades...I'm really confused why such an incredible resource is being so poorly received.

Sorry red strike :( I should of phrased my reply better ...what I meant is the thread link you asked me to look at, when ive read through it seems controversial and by working out the BMI by the first thread he'd be ill....I'll look at the Jackson one :) thanks for your advice x

Watsonpartyof4 said: