What’s the youngest age tortoise suitable for a tortoise table in north west U.K.?

Clare_Watson

Location (City and/or State)
Southport, UK
Hi everyone
I’m getting a tortoise! So excited, but a total beginner. I’d like to get a tortoise table and would want one around 3ft x 3ft to start with with the idea of expanding the size of the table as they get older and bigger. Eventually looking at potential conversion of one end of the dining room or converting the outhouse. Would have an outside enclosure to use as much as possible when warm enough and would be wanting to hibernate from when a baby. But I’m reading all sorts of stuff and I understand that humidity is the main issue with tables and babies. Is spraying the substrate daily, creating a humid enclosure/cave near the basking area and bathing daily enough to maintain hydration and humidity for a baby? If not, at what age is a table appropriate for? Thank you

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
What type of tortoise are you getting? I would not use a table for anything other than a Testudo (or Agrionemys). Even then, for a baby a humid chamber will produce better results. Their scutes do grow differently than other tortoises, so they are not as prone to pyramiding.

Cathie G

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lancaster
Hi everyone