What happens if a Russian tortoise is exposed to 24/7 light?

Marzfisch

Location (City and/or State)
Hemlock
Hello, my name is Marshall,

I am brand new to Tortoise Forum, but I need help.

I have an 'associate' that has possession of young one-eyed Russian Tortoise. I suspect the tortoise is about 4 inches in length, maybe a little less. I haven't identified it as a male or female, but the 'associate' is under the impression it is a female, and the tortoise is named Fiona. I have no idea what happened to her eye. She is VERY lethargic, and I don't think she is eating.

Today I cleaned out Fiona's habitat. It's humble and low budget, containing only a shallow water dish, and a small, even shallower food dish with only partially chopped salad greens purchased in the supermarket. The salad greens dry up quickly, and I suspect Fiona is not eating much, if any...

I did some research and suspected she needed a UVB light, due to calcium metabolism requiring sufficient vitamin D levels which are produced from UVB spectrum. Please correct me if that is not true.

Anyways, I bought Fiona a compact florescent UVB light, a thermometer, a 3rd dish to hold tortoise food I bought, and I bought her Cal+Mag supplement for her water.

Fiona's tank read 70°f when I left, and I am not happy with that temperature. I have read Fiona would prefer to be around 80°f. Is that correct?

Also, as the caption reads, and as my biggest concern is her light is on 24/7, it is not on a timer and never turns off. The light is a heat producing light and is kept on all night to keep Fiona warm, but I suspect between the lack of UVB light and the 24-hour light cycle, she is experiencing some medical issues.

I have just recently gotten to meet Fiona and am willing to go pretty far to make sure Fiona is taken proper care of. The budget is limited to a point, and the house for the tortoise cannot be changed until I find her a new home.