What is this white stuff on his shell?

Status
Not open for further replies.

superpooper

5 Year Member
Hi, newbie here. I recently began seeing white growth between the shell plates, but just today, there are some new white spots located on the plates themselves. I also took a picture of the bottom of his plastron, which seems to be discolored. These marking do not come off with warm water and a soft brush. Is this shell rot,some kind of fungus, or from overfeeding? If so, how can I treat it?

DSC03678.jpg
DSC03679.jpg

DSC03680.jpg

DSC03681.jpg

DSC03682.jpg

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Hi,
Your Redfoot has fungal shellrot. The best thing for that is to keep him dry and treat with athlete's foot cream. Put it on the affected spots, but wash it off with soap and water before you do any soaking (which you should do twice a day) as it's toxic if they ingest it.
It might take a month or 2 to cure it.

Danny

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Ya see, folks???? This is why I just LOVE this forum! The pictures are so easy to post and there is usually someone here who really knows the answer to your question. I'm so proud to be part of this wonderful group and so extremely glad that Danny is one of our members.

Yvonne

cdmay

10 Year Member!
Somewhere in Florida
Classic shell fungus. Clean up his hiding area and then treat with jock itch cream or (yikes!) a feminine itch cream.
These products work like magic. But, make sure you address the original reason it appeared. Usually it is from sitting in or burrowing into a place that has old feces or urine soaked into it.

M

Maggie Cummings

emysemys said:
Ya see, folks???? This is why I just LOVE this forum! The pictures are so easy to post and there is usually someone here who really knows the answer to your question. I'm so proud to be part of this wonderful group and so extremely glad that Danny is one of our members.

Yvonne