What should my russian's poop look like?

Tsarina27

My Russian, Tortomir, is about 3 yrs old, and we haven't had him for very long. However, I think his digestive system has started regulating, as he has been going to the bathroom about once a day for the past two days. My question is: what should healthy tortoise poop look like? The last one or two times I've seen it, it has been wet, with no shape whatsoever. I'd like to point out though, that the last time he went, it was after his bath, so that might explain why it was wet that time. I read that a wet stool can be caused by a parasite, but I don't want to jump to conclusions. I'm still a bit of a beginner here, so any advice and answers are greatly appreciated. Both tortomir and I will benefit from them. Thank you.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
If your worried take a fresh stool sample to your vet and let the vet check it out . It's better to be safe then sorry . I would do it mon- fri not on the weekend . And at the same time get to know your vet don't wait till you have a real problem then find out your vet only does cats and dogs . But relax and have fun with your tort .

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Earth
What kind of diet are you feeding him?

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
Like a tightly formed tootsie roll....with some food particles of the items you have fed the tort.....

Tsarina27

Right now, his diet consists of the greens that are in the spring mix. When it warms up, I plan on adding more natural weeds, but spring mix is what he's eating daily now.

mini_max

Alberta, Canada
My tort makes dark greeny black tootsie rolls too, but if he eats his aloe or other moister food they look more like fresh cow pies.