What to do with sulcata during winter in Texas

45Charlie0ct

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
TX
I was wondering what to do with my sulcata during the winter months in Texas if I do not have a heated night box yet? Was not expecting my sulcata to get as big as she is this fast. I was hoping I had 1 more winter left. So I have an indoor enclosure but it is too small for her to be inside the whole winter. What is the lowest temp she can be outside for a bit with out a heated box? I am just wondering if I can make do this winter or I need to bust my tail and build her a night box and larger enclosure outside before winter?

EllieMay

5 Year Member
East Texas
I think your definitely going to need that night box if you want to leave her out for any length of time. I live in east Tx and even now, sometimes the night temps aren’t good for them. I’m by no means an expert but I’ve read that They really “need” at least 80F... apparently they can survive much lower but it’s a slow torture for them and their digestive systems.. how big is your Sully now? I’d love to see some pics:)

Wishing you the best of luck!

Professor Brenda

Pflugerville, Texas
I had the same questions and concerns as you. I will be following Tom's design for a night box, probably the 4x4x2. We are building next week. We ordered and received all the heating elements and thermostat last week. I recommend you follow his designs and order the heaters needed.
Good luck.

45Charlie0ct

5 Year Member
TX