What to feed during winter? Not hibernating; new owner

sashabower

Location (City and/or State)
Ely
Hi! I’m new to the tortoise ‘community’ and only recently got a baby tortoise but I am 100% committed to keeping it. However there is one thing; I’m not sure what to feed my tortoise during winter if I’m not able to get hold of garden weeds and flowers any foods that you can recommend.
Many thanks
Sasha (Horsfield Tortoise owner)

LaLaP

5 Year Member
Portland, OR
Hi and welcome!
If you live in a place where you can't gather weeds and greens from outside you can search your grocery stores for endive, escarole, radicchio, mustard greens, turnip greens or cactus pads. The cactus can often be found in Mexican markets and is called nopales. Some grocers have dandelion greens too. You can also grow some weeds and greens indoors. You can get a testudo seed mix from tortoisesupply.com or grow pansies or another edible flower. You could also supplement with a food pellet like mazuri (get original formula and soften with warm water). Just make sure you are still feeding a variety and not giving the same thing all winter.
Good luck!

RosemaryDW

5 Year Member
Newport Coast, CA
Welcome!

@LaLaP, this member live in the UK so is unlikely to have a Mexican market nearby. :)

@sashabower, you will be able to find many of the things LaLa mentioned. You can also get Mazuri supplement in the UK, it maybe be sold under the NutraZu brand. Make sure you get the “regular” tortoise food, not the “LS” tortoise food as they sell many different kinds of animal foods besides tortoise. There is also a brand called “Pre-Alpine” that we can’t get here that is good.

When you are ready to think about seeds, the Shelled Warrior shop in the UK sells good tortoise mixes for your area.