What type of lighting does a tortoise need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

~Amanda~

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New Jersey
Hi! :tort:

I am new to the reptile world and am currently in the process of researching. I want to make sure I am well prepared before I welcome a new addition to my family. :) After some investigation, I have decided that a Russian Tortoise is definitely the right tortoise for me.

While I feel pretty confident that I understand what kind of habitat and food an RT needs, I just can't seem to grasp the lighting situation. If I am correct, a tortoise needs two lights: A UV light (which provides vitamins in the absence of a sun) and a heat lamp for them to bask in. {Jump in and correct me if I'm wrong}

Seems simple enough, however when I go to the pet store I am so confused by all of the different brands and labels. It seems that every light is a different strength/wattage/voltage and I am just looking for some guidance so I know what to pick out for my future RT :)

Thank you guys so much! :D

Edna

5 Year Member
Rawlins, Wyoming
Powersun lamps provide UVB and heat, and come in 100 watt or 160 watt. I'm using the 100s because the 160 put out more heat than I needed. If you need or want night-time heat without light, you can add a ceramic heat emitter (CHE), also in 100 watts.

Lllreptile.com is my source for lamps and fixtures, though I believe tortoisesupply.com has them too.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California