What type of tortoise is this?

Syrtros

Location (City and/or State)
Sylacauga, Alabama
I've only ever owned two baby sulcata tortoises, so I found this tortoise in the road about to get ran over and grabbed him, can you help me identify his species and tell me if it's safe to let him out into the Alabama woods.20190616_182029.jpg 20190616_183153.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
That's a box turtle. If it is native where you live and you found it in the wild leave it alone or take it back where it came from.
I believe it's an Eastern Box, but I'm not good at IDing the different ones.

Syrtros

Sylacauga, Alabama
That's a box turtle. If it is native where you live and you found it in the wild leave it alone or take it back where it came from.
I believe it's an Eastern Box, but I'm not good at IDing the different ones.
I thought it was an eastern box turtle but its face and legs when I found it didnt look much like an eastern box turtle, but I'm releasing it a short ways down from where it was, I just wanted to make sure it would be okay in the wild.

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga
It's an Eastern box turtle. Release it close to where you found it.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Definetly release near where you found it. They are very territorial. Will literally kill itself trying to get back to its territory.

Pastel Tortie

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
North Florida
I thought it was an eastern box turtle but its face and legs when I found it didnt look much like an eastern box turtle, but I'm releasing it a short ways down from where it was, I just wanted to make sure it would be okay in the wild.