White spot on face? (marginated)

Cat

Hello! :)

I'm new to the site, and although I have had a look at a few forums for answers on various things, this is my first time posting in one!

I got my baby marginated tortoise in November. She's seven months old and her name is Chai :tort: . I'm aware she may not be a girl, but as she was incubated to be female and it is a very long time until I'll be able to tell I've just gone with that :p
Chai seems overall very healthy. She's active, has a really good appetite and seems to be growing at a reasonable rate. Despite this, I just can't stop myself worrying about her! I may just be overreacting, but I haven't seen this symptom anywhere else... She has a white spot on her face that takes up a whole scale on her left cheek. Having looked at pictures from the first day I got her, I can confirm that she did have it then and it has not developed recently. I think I might just be noticing it more now as she's starting to grow, but it has got bigger and today the scale covering it seemed to be peeling off and made it look very large and protruding from her face.

I took some photos before giving her a soak (which is why she's a bit dirty from burrowing!) just to show how it looked:

Screen_Shot_2014_01_21_at_14_13_35.png

Screen_Shot_2014_01_21_at_14_14_41.png

Since giving her a bath, I'm fairly confident that the flaking was just normal scale shedding, however I have only really noticed her shedding skin on her neck rather than face. Anyway, the excess skin did come off but the white spot does still look quite large. Any ideas? Could this be normal?

Screen_Shot_2014_01_21_at_14_40_50.png

Screen_Shot_2014_01_21_at_14_41_08.png

Thanks so much for any responses!
Cat

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
It's hard to tell from the picture, but it really just looks like a bit of flakey skin. ????