Who knows about Galapagos DNA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spikethebest

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I think this guy does... Dr. Ed Louis. Does anyone have any information about this guy? I googled him and found nothing. Is he a professor out of University of Neb at Omaha?

If I cant find this guy, does anyone else know a method to determine tortoise species by its DNA?

I have searched the web about DNA testing, and I am unsuccessful. however, i am a graduate student at a university, in the biology department, and i have access and the knowledge on how to extract blood, isolate nDNA or mtDNA (nuclear DNA and mitochrondia DNA), amplify it, and sequence it.

So all I need to know are what primers to use, which DNA extraction kit, and what sequence of nucleotides, then I am all set. But I dont know where to find this information.

Ross

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi,

You might be able to reach him via the Henry Doorly Zoo in Omaha. If that doesn't work, let me know. He actually did his DNA work while at Texas A&M, but I think he's moved on from there.

Ross

spikethebest said:
I think this guy does... Dr. Ed Louis. Does anyone have any information about this guy? I googled him and found nothing. Is he a professor out of University of Neb at Omaha?

If I cant find this guy, does anyone else know a method to determine tortoise species by its DNA?

I have searched the web about DNA testing, and I am unsuccessful. however, i am a graduate student at a university, in the biology department, and i have access and the knowledge on how to extract blood, isolate nDNA or mtDNA (nuclear DNA and mitochrondia DNA), amplify it, and sequence it.

So all I need to know are what primers to use, which DNA extraction kit, and what sequence of nucleotides, then I am all set. But I dont know where to find this information.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Might want to try any of these guys Cory. :)