Wild Snails

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tortoise

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Canada
Hello

We have a dug out on our property and there are many aquatic snails in there. Is it safe to feed them to my tortoises. I know the Red Foots and Hinge Backs would probably eat them but wonder about possibility of diseases in the snails. There currently are no reports of liver fluke in this area.
Thanks

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
No food source, no matter if it is wild or captive/domestically raise is always going to be "safe". To me it's a judgement call each of us has to make. You can look at the facts, such as you did with saying flukes don't seem to be a major issue in your area. What is the environment like where these snails came from? Really yucky slimy smelly dirty or not?

I was amazed at one area of my yard I have been working on for the last two years to take back from the wild and remodel those old enclosures for current usage at the vast number of wild land snails back there. They are not normally found in the rest of my yard. I have hingebacks out in those areas. Are they eating snails? Who really knows, but the fact remains they may be. Any tortoise you put outside may eat anything that happens into it's enclosure.

While yes, on their own my hingebacks may not get as large a number of snails as you may be giving yours, but it's also not like it will be a constant and high percentage food source for them. We also know, in the wild it is a part of their diets (less for the Bells then the Homes or Erosa).

If they were my tortoises, yes I would be feeding them, if I thought they were a "safe" food source and figure they may be eaten by your tortoises any ways when they are outside.