Winter Eating: Slows Down?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pond_Lilly

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa, FL
I remember reading somewhere that torts slow down in winter, even if you still keep temp in enclosure pretty much the same. My 3 Cherry-head definitely slowed down a bit in terms of eating. Anybody else has the same observation?

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I am new to owning RFs, but my two have increased their eating and roaming....they are not a brumating species....you may want to check your temps and humidity.....

However, if they were wild they may be use to the weather changes at different times of the year even simply to slow but not brumate.....hmmm, others here have TONS more hands on experience than I do...so wait a bit to see what the others offer.... :D

cherylim

5 Year Member
Leyland, UK
Emrys (Hermann's) has certainly slowed down eating. His activity levels haven't changed and he still roams as much as he did in warmer weather, but he tends to have one smaller meal a day now with a lot more food left over. In late summer, he'd be eating as soon as I put the food down and then going back to it multiple times after a walk around his table.

TylerStewart

10 Year Member!
Las Vegas, NV.
I'm a firm believer that even light coming in through a window across the room as days get shorter is enough to affect the seasonal activity levels of tortoises. I notice the same thing with tortoises kept indoors. It may have something to do with seasonal changes in air pressure also, which would be hard to avoid even if you didn't have light coming in through a window. Nighttime temps are almost always lower in the winter also, even if you keep daytime temps the same (our house is around 68-70 at night in the winter, and more like 78-79 in the summer at night).