Would glass tank set up work if you put something around it like a wallpaper?

elliotmarie

Location (City and/or State)
Washington
This is a totally ignorant curiosity based question, I’m new to this and I didn’t know!! I read glass tanks aren’t great for them because of lots of reasons like the heat and that they’ll hurt themselves if they can see out. Would putting a dark paper/wallpaper around the outside of 3/4 sides (front being open so you can see in) work? I only ask because I saw this on a Facebook group I joined *not my photo* and I thought maybe I could achieve it by using paper or something? Like I said I’m not sure. I know the guy I’m getting this week (Small adult Russian tortoise) comes with a 40 gallon glass tank and I didn’t know if there was a way I could turn it into an actual good home? D6B14A18-4B28-4CEB-9227-4232F67E93B7.png

ZenHerper

New Jersey
The #1 problem with glass tanks is that they are not big enough.

Temperature issues can be addressed with proper equipment, including thermostats.

Paper can certainly be used to line the outside and keep residents from seeing the other side of the fence, so to speak.

But a 40 gallon tank is just insufficient for even a single Russian tort of juvenile or adult size. These animals have evolved to wander large territories (alone), eating and digesting and pooping, rinse, repeat.

Most animals who scale glass walls are likely just desperate for exercise and privacy.

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga