You’ll think I’m crazy! Need Cold weather help!

Carolina Vivariums

Location (City and/or State)
Greenville, SC
Hey everybody! New to the forum. I live in Greenville, SC where the summers reach 100+ and the winter can reach 0 with all the temperatures in between! Right now we are at 70 for the high and 35 for the lows. I got a message yesterday from a friend who had a sulcata that needed to be rescued. I have a lot of experience with reptiles have my own assortment or frogs, turtles, and geckos. I also have been an intern at the local zoo for 2 years now mostly working with reptiles. I have a passion for these animals and saving them. The previous owner had found this male outside in the woods over the summer (I assume it was an escapee but could have been dumped there) and they kept it in the fenced in yard all summer but as the temperatures are dropping they knew they couldn’t keep it anymore and were trying to re home it. So I offered to take it for them knowing not to many people around here would take it in the start at winter...I forgot to mention this guy is starting to get on the big side. He is about 30lbs and 18in in carapace length (and gonna get a lot bigger I know) So I need help figuring out how to house him over the winter. My initial thought was to house him in the 4ft x 6ft closet in my animal room that stays warm. For the time being he is in there I put a ply wood floor down then a tarp then cypress mulch along with his lighting needs but I know this is only temporary. I am thinking about building a 6ft x 6ft concrete insulated shelter outside with a greenhouse style run attach for the warmer parts of the winter to get some freedom. Do you think this will work? I need any and all tips and advice on this because I want to care for him the way he deserves! I’m building a greenhouse next year and I will be planning to househim in a large pin attached to the greenhouse next winter so I just have to get through this winter! Thanks all hopefully the com