Zippy the Hermann's Tortoise

Meag

Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles, California, USA
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the forum and just wanted to introduce myself and my reptile friend. My name is Meaghan and I have a 4 month old Hermann's tortoise named Zippy. I am a second grade teacher and live in Los Angeles, California where I think we have great weather for this species of tortoise. My second graders named Zippy and we have not yet determined gender. About once a month I plan on bringing Zippy in to help with lessons, as well as, teach the students about reptile husbandry. Below you will find some additional information about Zippy's enclosure and daily care. I am a first time tortoise owner, but have had a box turtle before. I can't wait to begin chatting with you all!

Best,
Meaghan

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

Enclosure Setup

I created an indoor enclosure for him out of a storage tub and plan on building an outdoor enclosure for when he/she gets a bit larger. The substrate is a mixture of organic topsoil, sphagnum moss and repti-bark. I have thermometers on both ends of the enclosure, as well as, a hydrometer in the center. The enclosure gets misted every morning and I do not keep a water dish in it. Instead, I soak him once a day for 15 min (multiple times a day when it's warmer). I have a heat lamp (clip on desk lamp) and a UVB lamp.

Food

The feed consists of lots of dark leafy greens and weeds. Fruit I was planning on keeping to about once or twice a month since I know that this species of tortoise should not have a lot of that. I also treated Zippy to some pumpkin this week for Halloween.

Size (approximate)

Currently Zippy is 1 inch high, 2 inches long and weighs 3 ounces.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO :)
Hi everyone!