Help! Hatchling Leopard Tortoise Substrate...hmm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Padme

10 Year Member!
Hey! We recently purchased a hatchling leopard tortoise and are having issues with substrate. She is probably about 10 weeks old. I have a lot of experience with reptiles; we have 3 water turtles and chameleons. The pet store we got her from reccomended alfalfa pellets for bedding but she has a small water dish that she enjoys bathing in and the alfalfa molds every 6 hours due to the temperatures and moisture. I am obviously not comfortable with the air quality due to the mold and also read that alfalfa can be bad for hatchlings feets aside from their lungs and shells. So! I researched and found that a 50/50 or 70/30 sand & loam mixture is best, I happen to use the same for the chameleons laying area. That being said...I filled her tank with it today and she wants nothing more than to eat it!!! I fed her plenty, she's had dandelion greens and pellets, but mannn does she want to eat sand and dirt.

Will this hurt her? What substrate do you all reccomend? I am worried about impaction.

I covered the 1/3 of the tank that has her water dish with timothy hay (she wants to eat the sand there most), then a put a very thin layer of alfalfa around the dish her food goes on and where her little house is, another 1/3 of the tank, and the final 1/3 is the loam mixture.

She is very young, could this be a reason why she cannot handle the mixture? Or is something better for hatchlings?

Thanks for your help! This is my first tortoise and I intend on her living longer than me!

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
We have had great success with keeping hatchlings on paper towels. Not the prettiest, but easy to clean and they don't ever really eat it. We have kept Eastern Hermanns, Golden Greeks, Egyptians, and Pancake hatchlings, to mention a few, on it with no issues at all.

Padme

10 Year Member!