Hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

karen

5 Year Member
Hey All,
I have 2 hermanns tortoises I am very new to looking after them so I would be very grateful on any information you could give me!!!

I dont know the age but can give length and weight if that helps?!
tort 1: 60mm and weighs 60g
tort 2: 60mm and weighs 48g

Also i have read loads of different things but, basically would like to check that what im doing is right....

I have the uvb light (repti glo 5.0) on for at least 12 hours - turned off at night - is this ok?

Also i have the temp set at about 90f during the day and turned down to 80f ish at night - also is this ok?

Feeding once a day- the correct foods/weeds is this enough?
also have fresh water once a day!

burrowing they seem to be diggin down in the aspen abit and sleepin semi submerged is this normal?

They are in a 3ft vivarium with a heat mat - I have read about all in one UVB & Heat lamps, would this be better for them? I try to leave a slight gap at the front of tank so they have constant fresh air - it also has ventilation at the back. Haven't had any prob with them climbing at the glass - I'm planning to get some more rocks/hiding places & plants in the vivarium soon.

Any feedback would be brilliant I can also take pics for anyone to view condition would be very grateful :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Isa Online
Posting Freak
Warning Level: 0%
RE: hi

(Today 12:27 PM)karen Wrote: hey all,
i have 2 hermanns tortoises i am very new to looking after them so i would be very grateful on any information you could give me!!!

i dont know the age but can give length and weight if that helps
tort 1: 60mm and weighs 60g
tort 2: 60mm and weighs 48g

also i have read loads of different things but, basically would like to check that what im doing is right,

i have the uvb light (repti glo 5.0) on for at least 12 hours-turned off at night- is this ok?