Howdy!

ladyvalkyrie

Location (City and/or State)
Fort Sill, Oklahoma
Howdy there! I'm Beka and I live outside of San Antonio, Texas. I thought I had an account here but apparently I did not, so here I am!

About me first: I'm 22, married, and in the process of joining the Navy. I'm also a college student, and English Major. This sounds like a lot of responsibility for someone wanting to be a tortoise mom, but I have a good support system. I currently live with my parents while I finish my degree as husband is Army and is stationed in Oklahoma. I have two turtles: A RES named Apollo and a Common Musk named Artemis. Husband has a Ball Python named Winston. My mom and dad have a dog named Queen Cleopatra and a cat name King TuT, and we're fostering two kittens- Hades and Dora. Our house is lively and full of love.

I'm fairly new to being a mom to shelled critters, but I've been researching and looking in to adopting one for a while. I knew I wanted a tortoise as soon as I saw the Sulcata (Henry) at Sea World. I was talking to the keeper about him since he's absolutely adorable, and once the keeper informed me that they were legal to have as pets, I knew I wanted one. So I've been looking into getting one ever since.

I am, however, starting smaller. On Saturday I will be taking custody of two Redfoots named Koopa and Troopa. I am very excited to add them to our home, and so is my husband. I don't know how my Artemis and Apollo feel, but I'm sure they're excited and slightly upset about having to share mom. They'll get over it though. <3

I look forward to being a part of this community and sharing the journey of my sweet babies!

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Beka welcome to the TFO from AZ . Thankyou for the service you are about to serve . Have a great tort day!

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

kathyth

10 Year Member!
Beaumont, CA.
Welcome!!
I have 7 Reddoots and love them. They have very specific needs, as all species do.