Box turtle outdoors habitat

Cheryl Hills

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Youngstown, Ohio
I am fairly new to having box turtles. As I can, I don't know much. I did read books and lots of online stuff, but a lot of info, which I have read on here, was not available anywhere else. So, I want to build an outdoors enclosure this summer coming. When putting a enclosure in, how deep should the outside wall be so they can not digg out? I thought I had a great enclosure inside but realize I have to improve it too. It is a work in progress .
Thanks.

yillt

I am fairly new to having box turtles. As I can, I don't know much. I did read books and lots of online stuff, but a lot of info, which I have read on here, was not available anywhere else. So, I want to build an outdoors enclosure this summer coming. When putting a enclosure in, how deep should the outside wall be so they can not digg out? I thought I had a great enclosure inside but realize I have to improve it too. It is a work in progress .
Thanks.
Maybe an easier solution would possible be to put a sheet of mesh a couple of inches under the top of the soil. I've never owned a box turtle though so someone will be along soon.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I would also put mesh or chicken wire of something like that down. I did this for my Russian, just laid it on top of the grass and then filled in with dirt. The grass then eventually grows back up through the fresh dirt. Much easier. Search for pics of @terryo boxie outdoor enclosures, they are beautiful.

TLWR

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Baldwin Co, Alabama
Do you plan on allowing them to stay outside year round? If so, how you set up might be a bit different as you'll need to have an area where they can dig down to hibernate and pile up the leaves/mulch to keep them warm enough.

My pen is in coastal Alabama, so vastly different temps than Ohio.