Building outdoor enclosure

Tyty1389

Location (City and/or State)
Sarasota
Okay, so I have been slowly putting together an outdoor enclosure. It is intended to be a home for a redfoot in the future. I’m new to tortoises and wanted any suggestions that could be thrown my way. FYI I live in South Florida so I’m hoping to keep the tort out almost year round, temps permitting. I’m actually thinking I will expand this enclosure another 10 feet, mostly because I can. I would especially like insight from those who live in South Florida and keep redfoots outside. I almost think I have to much shade in this location, but then I think it a Forrest tortoise. I would love to hear anybody’s thoughts. The bottom pick is the older pick, thus the lack of foliage.43497880-23C9-4035-A557-9D1DFD738E76.jpeg BF320261-E90E-4082-B2A7-436FA486B063.jpeg

Redfool

5 Year Member
Central Florida
I had the same amount of shade here in central Fl until Irma stripped all the oak leaves away. Hope to have shade back in a few months. Your shade is no problem as long as it’s warm out. My RFs have been outside under the shade of an oak hammock for over 15 years. They don’t really bask in the sun like your beardie does. They’ll still get plenty of UV in broken sun/shade. I do have a warm house for them with 2 CHEs inside. Please check that your plants are tort safe before introducing a RF. I don’t know if sappy plants like rubber plants or plumaria are edible. 6 inch should be minimum size for full time outside RF.

Tyty1389

Sarasota