Coco coir question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tortx2

5 Year Member
I got a large brick of coco coir but it doesn't say how much water to use. How much water do you use per pound of dry coco coir?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
LOL! It's not a recipe. You don't have to follow directions exactly!

Just get a 5 gallon bucket, put your brick in the bucket and submerge it in water. You're going to pour off the water once the brick has absorbed, so it doesn't matter how much water you use.

lokenica

5 Year Member
Yep, Yvonne's correct....I just got some today...I added 4 quarts and rang it out as I put it in the enclosure.....bring a towel....it's a mess!

Tortx2

5 Year Member
Thanks. I'm new to all this. Just don't want to mess it all up. I'm probably going to wait to use it until my new enclosure is built, but I want to be prepared.

zman7590

5 Year Member
Easier to buy the bags not compressed stuff. It costs the same and makes same amount.... No brainer lol

Sent from my SGH-T769 using TortForum mobile app

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Earth
zman7590 said:
Easier to buy the bags not compressed stuff. It costs the same and makes same amount.... No brainer lol

Sent from my SGH-T769 using TortForum mobile app

You are either getting the greatest bargain on the bags of loose coir or paying way too much for the compressed bricks.

Using numbers online, the compressed bricks are less than half the cost of a bag of loose material for a comparable amount of coir. I have a feeling that although the exact numbers will differ in physical stores, compressed bricks will (and should, based on logistics) be cheaper.

Tech13

5 Year Member