Cold frame

Status
Not open for further replies.

yagyujubei

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Amish Country
If I were to build a small outside enclosure with a cold frame type top, do you think this would allow me to get my hatchlings outside significantly earlier? In other words I know that for seed starting, a cold frame is warmer inside than out, but is it only a couple of degrees, or 10 to 20 degrees?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I have no experience with this, but do you mean like a green house sort of thing? I would think that would work great, but you'd need to get that special plastic that actually lets the UV through.

Bert Langerwerf had great success building south facing, in ground enclosures with glass or plexi tops.

Paige Lewis

5 Year Member
Swansea, UK
I was just curious, as i may be mistaken but i thought i learnt when doing my physics a level that glass can significantly reduce the UVB output from the sun rays?

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
Many and eventually all of my outdoor enclosures will have mini greenhouses (cold frames) in them. I've found that the tortoises gravitate to the mini greenhouses to warm up on cool mornings and cloudy days. The females almost always nest in the greenhouses because they are much warmer and more humid than out in their enclosures. Mine are glass which do block UVB rays, as do most plastics. I'm not too concerned about that because it (UVB) doesn't need to be available to them all day long and can be obtained at other times via direct sunlight or by lighting. My only regret is that I didn't build them 25 years ago instead of finally deciding to try them recently.
Torthouse-1.jpg

Torthouse-2.jpg

mike1011

5 Year Member