Deep Shell Rot

nightoff

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
I live in South Florida and my year old red foot has a few spots of shell rot from a wet outdoor enclosure. I have her inside now until this issue clears up. Then I'll move her enclosure so it gets more sun for the winter.

The issue is that I scraped off the white she'll rot and have been treating it with tolnaftate 1%. She has one spot on the lower right edge of her plastron that is deeper and pink. See picture. Do I treat the pink spot with the anti fungal until the shell regrows over the area or should I treat it for a week or so and then keep it clean and dry until it regrows? ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1447721582.624070.jpg

AnimalLady

Good question~ I'm not experienced enough to answer it, but I want to see the replies.

Question for you~ I live in South FL too and this is always on my mind. How long did it take you to notice this? I keep both of mine outdoors and I check them daily.. but I was just wondering.. does this just pop up over night? Or is this something that takes time?

Alaskamike

South Florida
Good question~ I'm not experienced enough to answer it, but I want to see the replies.

Question for you~ I live in South FL too and this is always on my mind. How long did it take you to notice this? I keep both of mine outdoors and I check them daily.. but I was just wondering.. does this just pop up over night? Or is this something that takes time?
I have a Redfoot outside in So Florida too. I check about every other day - or when I pick her up.

Shell rot does not appear overnight with real damage. It takes a bit of time. The problem is it is easy to miss if you don't look often and see changes early. The spots are however , often very small - red or black - and unfortunate it can be rotting under the shell and cover area you can't see. This is true of caprice also.