dehydrated spur thigh tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

LilRoshi

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Cleveland, OH
Hey there! i'm fairly new in the tortoise world and i'm THRILLED to have finally found an online forum and would appreciate ANY advice you can give me about my 1 year old African spur thigh....

Lately Roshi has had very watery eyes and dry flakey skin..i've been trying to soak him everyday and give him vegetables that have higher water content .(normally he only likes Kale, Swiss Chard and other dense leafy greens) I was wondering if there was anything else i'm missing to help him through this dry cold weather we have here in Cleveland, OH. Also i was wondering if vent-forced gas heating can cause a problem for a tortoise's skin just as it does with a human's scalp and skin. HELP!! i thought my tortoise LIKED dry warm air!!!!!!!!!

pdrobber

10 Year Member!
Welcome. You'll get lots of advice here.

BrinnANDTorts

5 Year Member
You tortoise needs humidity :)
A hot humid enclosure , 80% humidity and at least 80 degrees all over his enclosure.
He has already started to pyramid, if you keep up his humidity and start soaking him in warm water everyday for at least 30 min he won't pyramid like that and his shell will start to grow smooth.
More links for you to read about your baby and pyramiding
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-The-End-Of-Pyramiding#axzz1fiEYEvE9
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-The-End-Of-Pyramiding-II-The-Leopards#axzz1fiEYEvE9
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread...ses-with-Metabolic-Bone-Disease#axzz1fiEYEvE9
Toms link is the most important though (where I got all my information)
I would make those changes fast cause severely dehydrated sulcata babies will die (hatchling failure syndrome) :(
Link about that syndrome
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-Hatchling-Failure-Syndrome#axzz1fiEYEvE9

I hope your baby gets better !! He/she is super cute (I'm assuming that's her in your profile picture thing)