Status
Not open for further replies.

armandoarturo

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mexico
Hi good day everyone. Im new around...
I have a question to make..
(sorry if my english is bad, my first language its spanish)

Im Armando, im from Sonora, Mexico.
Im a toroise keeper (Gopherus agassizii) or desert tortoise.
I have been raising and carying for Desert tortoises for 15 years, and I know everything about them. I protect them, and remove tortoises away from people that dont give a good care.

I'm also working on a future project, that will help tortoises in the local area, and my yard its big and 100% suitable for them. x

The thing is, I usually let eggs develop in their nest...
I do care a lot from the outside the nest, but I usually dont like to incubate them, because I preffer letting mother nature to take care of them, and let the good ones do it.
but.... 35 days ago, a friend who knows about my project, found out that his neihbour's female tortoise layed a clutch of 8 eggs, without burried them. This because they dont have ground in the back yard. It is all full of concrete. (I know, thats NOT good at all).
The thing is that I came up to my friends neigbhour's house, and asked her to let me see the eggs, and explain to her that the eggs wouldnt develop without a good care, and tryied to convince her of giving them to me.
Luckly, she agreeded, and gave me the 8 eggs, and also gave me her male tortoise. I tryied to also get the female, but she refused.

So i came back home, and build in a incubator-like box, and placed it outside in a suitable shaded place.
As I dont do the incubating thing, Im really worried about them, because I know that eggs can not be rotated as the embryo can die.
I have never rotated them, i took them from where the neighbour had them, and place them carefully in the same position as they where. (I dont really know if the neighbour rotated the eggs when picking them up, she doesnt remembers) (AND I REALLY HOPE SHE DIDNT)