Eastern vs Three-Toed...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaliforniaDreamin

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
What are the main differences between an Eastern and Three-Toed?

I'll be getting a turtle soon and the current owner says that he is an Eastern (thats what the pet store guy told him). I finally held the him today and noticed that he only has three toes on his back feet.

Long story short, I was under the impression that I was getting an EBT... now it seems it's a 3-toed. So my questions are how much different is their care and is there a way to tell for sure which type of turtle he is? (I will post a picture eventually to confirm, just didn't had my camera handy when I saw him). Helpful links always welcome. :tort:

Also... how big should this guy be right now? The current owner says that he has had him for a year. He is soo tiny though! Maybe it's normal, i'm a rookie and have no clue. I do know that he has not been getting the proper nutrition/lighting so i'm concerned about the growth rate. The turtle fits just about in the palm of my hand (& i've got small girl hands..).

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Sorry, but without a picture, we're just blowin' smoke.

samsmom

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
CedarCreekLake, Texas
I had both so I might could help if I knew what they looked like!

CaliforniaDreamin

5 Year Member
California
Okay. I will try and make it over to their house tomorrow so that I can take a picture. I'm sorry if I sounded frustrated.. I have been going through a lot lately and i'm trying to hurry and get this tank set up so the little dude doesn't have to be stuck in a crappy home with no heat or proper nutrition.