HELLO AND HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacksan

5 Year Member
Hi there everyone,
I really feel I will need a lot of help and advice pretty soon. I live in Spain and last night was approached by a man who is going back to the UK, he has 6 tortoises, I dont know what kind, about 3 years old (he had the parents brought them from the UK) but they were stolen. He wants me to have them, he says he has all the paper work needed.
I have agreed as I am a Huge animal lover, with 7 rescued cats, 2 rescued dogs and a rescued parrot, and foster for PAWS and ANIMAL AID, that is why this man wants to give them to me as he wants them cared for properly.

The thing is though I have agreed to have them, I no nothing about the care of them, he says its easy and will let me know what to do, and the vet locally is a Tortoise epert (thankgod).I just feel it would be nice to have back up and support on hand, I did this when I rescued my parrot, joined a Forum as I was a novice,so any tips advice help, warning etc would be appreciated. PS he keeps them in a tank with a light and does not hibernate them. All the best Jackiexx

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Jackie: Welcome to the forum. We'll be glad to offer any help that we can, once we know what kind of tortoises they are. I'm betting they are in the Greek family. When you get them, please take and post pictures! You are about to join the wonderful world of tortoises. They are great animals and you are going to get so much out of having them.

Yvonne

PS: I LOVE Daisy Dot! You must have a very clean monitor!

galvinkaos

5 Year Member
Temple City, Ca
Welcome, Another suggestion is look at the threads about enclosures and the specific tort (once they are id'd) And ask, there are alot of very experienced tort parents here with kids from all over the spectrum.

Dawna

jacksan

5 Year Member