Help please?! (closed eyes)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I posted the temps (above) it’s like a flaky brown substrate. She gets kale and dandilions and nettles and pellets. She has a pinch of vit a powder twice a week and a sprinkle of calcium powder too. The bulb is not cooled and securely fastened and the vet recommended it. Her eyes were closed when I bought her
You really need to know the type of substrate you're using. Quite a few brands that are sold for tortoises are actually harmful to the babies eyes. Also, veterinarians are not a good source for getting information on how to take care of a new baby tortoise. Some lights are too strong for baby tortoise's eyes.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hey! Thanks I’m a bit of an amateur crafter. Yeah it’s a lamp with a clamp but it’s very secure. The vet recommended it as I had a higher wattage bulb and lamp. It’s not a coiled bulb and is high enough from her that she can’t touch it.
It needs to be no closer than 12" away from the top of her shell.

Kells Bells

Ireland
Hi from a fellow country woman :) I hope you get your tort sorted. As Yvonne said it could be the substrate some aren't good for their eyes. A lot of people use coco coir and have great success. I tried it and it irritated my torts eyes. He couldn't open them and had an infection I got some drops and changed to orchid bark he's now a happy chappy. Anyways fingers crossed

Mambo

Belfast
Hi from a fellow country woman :) I hope you get your tort sorted. As Yvonne said it could be the substrate some aren't good for their eyes. A lot of people use coco coir and have great success. I tried it and it irritated my torts eyes. He couldn't open them and had an infection I got some drops and changed to orchid bark he's now a happy chappy. Anyways fingers crossed