Hermann Weight & Humidity

Sfc200376

Hi All, I need some expert advice as I am new to the tortoise world and want to give Charlie the best VIP care I can.

Charlie is 2 years old and tomorrow I am off to get some scales to start weighing him and recording the info weekly. What weight should he be? Is there a table or chart anywhere which shows what we should be aiming for?

The other question is humidity and how do I get this right? He has a tortoise table and at the moment has sawdust but looking on here think I should move to top soil? How do I get humidity right? Is it as easy as spraying water in the room or table daily?

I love this forum it is so useful and everyone is so helpful and friendly. Many thanks Kelly & Charlie :)

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Watery Wiltshire in the UK
Use soil as sawdust draws moisture from the shell and is also quite flammable. Don't worry too much about humidity with hermanni, moisture in the shell is more important so just provide somewhere for him to drink and bathe in when he wants. Humidity should ideally be 50-60%, but as long as it's not extremely dry or extremely humid it's fine. Just provide deep soil to dig in as humidity will be higher down in the burrows. Spray the topsoil now and again. Ideally you want a dry top, and then damp soil underneath.

Sfc200376

Thank you for the great advice I really appreciate your help :)

Off to the shop tomorrow then to get top soil and out with the sawdust! Is it best to use soil in his house also for sleeping? He has a little house he burrows down in sawdust at night? I put a heat mat underneath and only put it on at night as worried he gets too cold overnight?

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Watery Wiltshire in the UK
Yes, soil is definitely best for the entire enclosure. If using a heat mat, attach it to the SIDE of the enclosure as underneath it can cause burns. But, unless your house gets below about 55 at night, you don't need it.

Sfc200376