Hermanns Tortoise Enclosure

AliJ

Location (City and/or State)
Tomball, TX
Hey everyone! I am new to the tortoise ownership life. I have a little hermanns tortoise, eastern I think, about a year old. We’012B58DA-612C-45D8-838A-5B31BDD24DB0.jpeg 34159517-722E-4B8E-AD10-DD72A9AC9535.jpeg 6F3733DC-8419-4140-A8F0-818E541A0778.jpeg 49E98A5F-4B23-4029-A3F7-39AE5A77540D.jpeg 87FB7A63-CAB6-40CB-B785-3E5F6B2665F4.jpeg ve had her a week and we love her! I have a few questions about her enclosure and fire ants.
1. We live in Houston, TX and have her outside. I’ve included a picture of the enclosure we’ve build. It’s 32”w x 112”l approx. I want to add some plants to it and we are building a top now. The plants I bought so far are a Mexican Heather and hibiscus. I bought them from Lowe’s and have heard I should let them grow separate from her for a while before they are safe to put in with her?? Any suggestions on what else we can add to make it fun/safe/functional?

2. I have a fire ant problem. I have put cinnamon and food grade diatomaceous earth all around the enclosure but the little pests are stubborn. What can I do to get them out of her house and protect her and her food?

Thank you!! I’m so excited about her and learning everything I can!

TriciaStringer

5 Year Member
Louisiana