Hibernation

RitaB-25

Location (City and/or State)
Guildford
My tortoise, Bill, who I have had for 55 years, went in to hibernation mid October. He is still asleep and it is now 4 months. Should I wake him up? I have never had to do this before.

zolasmum

5 Year Member
My tortoise, Bill, who I have had for 55 years, went in to hibernation mid October. He is still asleep and it is now 4 months. Should I wake him up? I have never had to do this before.
Hello and welcome from Devon.Does Bill usually wake up on his own? Where does he hibernate? And where does he live - outside in the garden, or indoors? What sort of tortoise is he?
The weather here has been very mixed, hasn't it, and there might be more really cold weather to come, so I would think it would be ok to let him sleep a bit longer. There is lots of information on this forum about how to wake and warm up tortoises, but I am not an expert, and our Hermanns Zola doesn't hibernate, as he mainly lives indoors. I think it is usually suggested that you give them a very long soak in warm water, keeping the water re-heated - to help rehydrate them, and then put them under a basking lamp. Then another warm soak.
Best wishes to you and Bill
Angie

RitaB-25

Guildford
Hello and welcome from Devon.Does Bill usually wake up on his own? Where does he hibernate? And where does he live - outside in the garden, or indoors? What sort of tortoise is he?
The weather here has been very mixed, hasn't it, and there might be more really cold weather to come, so I would think it would be ok to let him sleep a bit longer. There is lots of information on this forum about how to wake and warm up tortoises, but I am not an expert, and our Hermanns Zola doesn't hibernate, as he mainly lives indoors. I think it is usually suggested that you give them a very long soak in warm water, keeping the water re-heated - to help rehydrate them, and then put them under a basking lamp. Then another warm soak.
Best wishes to you and Bill
Angie