How much do your hatchlings eat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HollyH8

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
I have two sulcata tortoises that are approximately 3 months old Hercules and Hazel. I've been feeding them mostly romaine lettuce and occasionally some zoomed food and other veggies. Anyways I give them about a cup full of food once a day and they maybe eat half. I thought they were supposed to eat a lot or is that as they get older? How much do your hatchling sulcatas eat? Thanks!

RogerTheTortoise

5 Year Member
I'm a newbie however when I give Roger the spring mix he goes crazy but when I gave him just 1type of lettuce he would just eat a little here and there. Needless to say I switched back! : )
Maybe it's just a variety thing.

cemmons12

5 Year Member
Greenfield, In.
You need to feed less romain and more spring mix and grass, roamin doesn't give very much nutrition for sullys. Trust me, I have a 10 month old sully that is already 6 inchs long and over 680 grams. I don't give him any romain anymore. Good luck! :)

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York
I agree with cemmons12. Cut back on the romaine & try to give your Sully a bigger variety. There are tons of foods that your tort will go nuts over, and they're packed with nutrition. I suggest checking out some of the threads on "diet". Good luck! :)

SulcataSquirt

5 Year Member
Missouri
We fed our hatchling Spring Mix when we first got him and then slowly incorporated other types of lettuce. I recommend staying away from the romaine as well. There is a wide variety of greens that you can try though! We always fed him a pile of cut up (into strips) lettuce that was about the size of him if not a little bigger, he always finished it.

nikki0601

5 Year Member
Bonifay, FL