indoor enclosure for 3 year old red foot

Gizzie

I was just given a three year old red foot. I have read a lot on this website, so I feel like I have some knowledge. I live in South Dakota and so it is not ideal weather for a red foot. I want to have my husband build an enclosure over Christmas break, but I am not sure what all I need to consider when having him build the enclosure. Right now the spot I have is a 6" for 3 1/2 " place to put the enclosure, so I am going to start with one that size. I figured that I need a place for a heat lamp and UVB light, but I didn't know if I need a mister or florescent lamp. Will the UVB light keep the plants alive? I know I should have a basking area of 95 degrees, an area where the temp is around 80 degrees and a damp area. What are your recommendations as far as heat pads, misters, and any other advice. I want to make sure that we design it with the end product in mind as far as having holes for lamps, etc. Thanks for any advice you can give me.

NicoleB26

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Rome, OH
Gizzie said: