Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jarvis_P

5 Year Member
Hello my name is Jarvis Pennington and I live in southwest va. I am new to tortoise and hoping to find one good for a beginner. I have searched and found that I like Russian tortoises. Any info for them or any other tortoise would be helpful.:tort:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Jarvis, and welcome to the forum!

Russian tortoises are good beginner tortoises. A few things to keep in mind: Russian tortoises like to roam. If kept in a small indoor habitat they will drive you crazy trying to climb their walls and escape. They need a big area. Russian tortoises are good climbers and great diggers.

Here's a good care sheet for your perusal:

http://russiantortoise.net/care_sheet.htm

Jarvis_P

5 Year Member
How many times a day do Russian tortoises need to bask and is there any small tortoises that do not need to bask?

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon
Every turtle and tortoise will need to bask.
Is that something you are unable to provide?

Heather
Sent from my Android TFO app

Jarvis_P

5 Year Member
No I can provide it but I thought it would be expensive to have a light on for 12 hours a day suing winter.

gregcalverley0327

10 Year Member!
It's not that much, for all your lights it'll probably be around 20 dollars a month

0.3.0 sulcata tortoise
(Manavi, aspen, Bronx)
1.0.0 Russian tortoise
(Ivan)
1 Great Dane
(Koko)

Jarvis_P

5 Year Member
Ok thanks would a Russian tortoise be the best for me? I am a beginner

kanalomele

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
East Bay area