Markings on baby tortoise shell

Winston and Jess

Hi, I'm totally new to the world of tortoises and spend my life worrying that I'm not providing adequate care for my baby African spur thighed Winston. He's about 5 months old (I think) and I'm worried about these marks on his shell???

Also, is it okay to just predominantly feed him dandelions? (With the calcium sprinkle on once a week)

I appreciate any help anyone can give me!! . ImageUploadedByTortForum1395184249.676144.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

T33's Torts

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Neverland!
If you're referring to those little white rings, those are just signs of growth.

That is one DARK baby sulcata. Almost doesn't look like one!

Can you post more pictures of him? His arm scutes are small, I wonder if he is actually a desert tortoise of sorts.

Winston and Jess

Yep of course! I'm not 100% certain what breed, i just did some research and he seemed to fit the African sour thighed profile! I got him from a dubious source but am making it my responsibility to make sure he's as healthy and happy as possible... This is turning out harder than anticipated! Thank you so much for replying! ImageUploadedByTortForum1395184555.612398.jpg ImageUploadedByTortForum1395184668.335047.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
If that is really a sulcata, please read Toms threads below for proper housing, humidity and temps. He is starting to pyramid and they are suppose to grow nice and smooth.
Also, no, it's not okay to feed just dandelions. A wide varied diet is needed. Check out the tortoisetable.org.uk for more edible items to feed.

Winston and Jess

Does he not look like a sulcatra?? I've read all of toms threads and have been caring for him as a sulcatra but he's a rescue baby tortoise and I wasn't told his species?

mikeh

5 Year Member