MBD?

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Maggie Cummings

Weak legs, sunken in dorsal scute, softer feeling carapace...I'm not too good with MBD, but here's a picture of Toby who had MBD so bad he couldn't raise himself up to walk. He was rescued and sent to live in Alabama I think and is walking and active and just a great tort from what I'm told.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
:p Just a hint:

When you say, "Here's a picture..." Then that statement is usually accompanied by a picture! :D

dreadyA

5 Year Member
southern cal.
Haha. I completely missed that one. Didn't even bother looking for a pic :]
Are there ever any cases of under/overbite with mbd ?

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Colorado
OK, I'll bite.

What is CRS? :cool:

I'm so glad you found a good home for Toby...photos like that make me cringe. I hope he manages to live well now even if he can't live long. :)

Jordan, E.J. said something similar on a recent post: MBD is characterized by joint weakness and the shell has a particular sound you can hear when you tap it...I think he said it's light and hollow as opposed to heavy and solid. Now I'm going to go find his quote before my 30-minute window is up!
*******************************************************************************************
So, I asked, What are the symptoms of MBD, and what does a tortoise afflicted with MBD look like?

and Ed answered, "There is the obvious malformed shell... not necessarily pyramiding. The legs cannot support the animal. Those are the obvious.

What I like to use is a 'tap' test. I lightly tap the shell... if it sounds solid and sharp... it is good... if it sounds hollow and dull... not good.

The best way to hear the difference is to try this with a tortoise that you know has a thin shell and one that you know has a good shell. Once you hear the difference there is no mistaking it.