My first tortoise enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

momail00

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Syracuse, New York
First off, I am new to the whole tortoise world and website. My girlfriend owns two African Spur Sulcatas and I have pretty much adopted them since we moved in together a few months ago :) Below is a picture of the enclosure I just finished building a week or two ago and I will list what you are seeing in the picture...

--The tortoises are roughly 9-10 months old
--The enclosure is 4'1 x 4'1 made from 2x4's and plywood
--The two black light domes in the center are mercury vapor bulbs w/ UVA/UVB, left is a basking bulb and the lights turn on automatically from 7:30am - 7:30pm
--The silver dome at the top center of the pic is a 250w red heat lamp that comes on at night from 7:30pm - 7:30am
--The substrate is play sand from homedepot
--The two corners of the enclosure contain a clay pot that they normally sleep behind or up against
--The sidewalk stone in the center is under the basking lamp to offer extended warmth once the lights turn off

This is where my boys (Rocky & Mr-T) are living and I would appreciate any advice as we are both relatively new to these guys and we want to make sure they are as happy and healthy as possible...Thanks in advance

Attachments

• TortHouse.jpg
    TortHouse.jpg
    341.4 KB · Views: 137

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Darn it anyway...I just hate it when a new member shows us a GREAT habitat and then I see something in it that's not right. The habitat you built is wonderful. I love that you're hanging the lights instead of clamping them. They have lots of room to roam around, but...I'm sorry, why does there always have to be a but?

Sand is not good for substrate. They walk through it then walk through their food, and if they aren't really hydrated, the accidentally eaten sand will cause them to become impacted.

Anyway...