Need a little advice (rocks under the light)

Aspirerite

Hi guys n gals I'm in need of a little input from you guys. Well the thing is I am new to keeping tortoises and I've set up an indoor table and my cold side temp ranges from 20c-26c and my warm spot is 31c-36c and Ive given my 2yr old ibera a large plantpot to shelter in on the cold side and I put some rocks in around the enclosure to give her some exorcise and basking spots that hold a nice heat. Well under the basking bulb I have a few rocks and she dug under them and started to hide under there but I didn't like it as she could have got trapped so I made her a little cave under the light with enough room to get in and out. I did that so it was a lot saver. She has come out this morning and warmed up but now she has decided she wants to go in the cave. Should I remove the rocks from under the light or will she be OK. I don't want her to over heat or anything. but I dont want to deprive her of one of her favorite spots

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
As long as you made it safe, it should be fine. Tortoise do like to dig and hide. I do not know about iberas temp requirments, but as long as your in the range there I would leave her be.

Abdulla6169

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Dubai/New York
Welcome to TFO :)
I say it's good if she voluntarily does so, just make sure no flipping danger and whatever :D
Good luck!

Aspirerite

OK thanx Ill keep an eye on her she doesn't have room to flip inside and the rocks have topsoil around them and I've made things as flat as possible under the light but I check on all the time to make any alterations if I need to. since I got her she has become much more active so I must be doing things better than the pet shop did anyway lol

Yellow Turtle01

5 Year Member
OH, USA