New baby

Veitality

Location (City and/or State)
WILLIAMSTOWN
We just got a baby red footed tortoise. It’s about 3-4 inches. Right now we have it in a 10 gallon with mesh lid. Coconut substrate. The soft fluffy kind. It’s eating great. We got the Mazuri diet and also give greens and fruits. The humidity is always above 70% and temp is constantly around 75° In the shade. It hasn’t pooped yet. Should I worry? We take it outside daily for sun and I did purchase a UVB bulb and I have a small heat lamp. Is there anything else I should be doing? I’m new to this. It seems happy and healthy so far.

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga
A 10 gallon is far too small for a 4" tortoise. They grow fast too. You definitely need something bigger. Your temperature is a little low too. You want to aim for 84-86F thru out the enclosure. It's easiest done with a closed chamber style enclosure. You can get a large plastic tote to make one for just a few bucks.

saleena.lewis

Massachusetts
We just got a baby red footed tortoise. It’s about 3-4 inches. Right now we have it in a 10 gallon with mesh lid. Coconut substrate. The soft fluffy kind. It’s eating great. We got the Mazuri diet and also give greens and fruits. The humidity is always above 70% and temp is constantly around 75° In the shade. It hasn’t pooped yet. Should I worry? We take it outside daily for sun and I did purchase a UVB bulb and I have a small heat lamp. Is there anything else I should be doing? I’m new to this. It seems happy and healthy so far.